13.11.13

Waiting on Wednesday: Uninvited by Sophie Jordan






Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a feature hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine to feature yet-to-be-released books.








UNINVITED
sophie jordan

Goodreads

out january 28th, 2013


The Scarlet Letter meets Minority Report in bestselling author Sophie Jordan's chilling new novel about a teenage girl who is ostracized when her genetic test proves she's destined to become a murderer.

When Davy Hamilton's tests come back positive for Homicidal Tendency Syndrome (HTS)-aka the kill gene-she loses everything. Her boyfriend ditches her, her parents are scared of her, and she can forget about her bright future at Juilliard. Davy doesn't feel any different, but genes don't lie. One day she will kill someone.

Only Sean, a fellow HTS carrier, can relate to her new life. Davy wants to trust him; maybe he's not as dangerous as he seems. Or maybe Davy is just as deadly.

The first in a two-book series, Uninvited tackles intriguing questions about free will, identity, and human nature. Steeped in New York Times bestselling author Sophie Jordan's trademark mix of gripping action and breathless romance, this suspenseful tale is perfect for fans of James Patterson, Michelle Hodkin, and Lisa McMann.



c.j.'s thoughts

I did a double-take when I came across this and saw Sophie Jordan's name.  I loved her first series, starting with Firelight, but that was your classic urban fantasy.  (Not to mention totally underrated in the young adult community.)  Seeing something more like The Minority Report shocked me a little.  But I like Jordan's writing, so I know she'll pull it off.  The plot here sounds exciting and timely, considering the upsurge of popularity for genetic testing and screening.  It's something that could be real in the not-so-distant future--and it underscores the dangers of buying into genetic determinism.  As someone working in that field myself, I'm thrilled to see what she does with it.  I'm hoping the "boy" aspect doesn't overpower the plot, so fingers crossed!  I'd rather see a lot of badassery, danger, and near-future tech.  (Also, I'm pretty sure the only thing this will have in common with The Scarlet Letter is the word "ostracism", but I'll blame the marketing team for that.)  








7 comments:

  1. I started reading this last night. I didn't get very far into it, but it hasn't hooked me yet. :( I really loved the Firelight series by her. Hopefully it'll get better!

    WOW
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Me too! Some of my favorite books started a little slow, so fingers crossed! (Also, your blog name is AWESOME!)

      Delete
  2. Awesome pick -- just finished my first Sophie Jordan book and I want more!

    My WoW

    ReplyDelete
  3. I've seen this one around. It sounds really exciting, I loved Minority Report and it's not an overused topic. Thanks for sharing!

    Johanna @ Challenging Reads

    ReplyDelete
  4. I am really excited about this one! Sounds really good.

    My WoW
    Daisel @ Owl Always Be Reading

    ReplyDelete

Thanks for visiting Sarcasm & Lemons! Come say hi. I love when people say hi. (: I will read every single comment and respond as soon as I can! Which might take a while, because my life is crazy.