15.1.14

Waiting on Wednesday: Random by Tom Leveen



Waiting on Wednesday

"Waiting On" Wednesday is a feature hosted by Jill @ Breaking the Spine to feature yet-to-be-released books.









RANDOM
tom leveen

Goodreads

out august 12th, 2014


Who's the real victim here? This tense and gripping exploration of cyberbullying and teen suicide is perfect for fans of Before I Fall and Thirteen Reasons Why.

Late at night Tori receives a random phone call. It's a wrong number. But the caller seems to want to talk, so she stays on the line.

He asks for a single thing—one reason not to kill himself.

The request plunges her into confusion. Because if this random caller actually does what he plans, he'll be the second person connected to Tori to take his own life. And the first just might land her in jail. After her Facebook page became Exhibit A in a tragic national news story about cyberbullying, Tori can't help but suspect the caller is a fraud. But what if he’s not? Her words alone may hold the power of life or death.

With the clock ticking, Tori has little time to save a stranger—and maybe redeem herself—leading to a startling conclusion that changes everything…



c.j.'s thoughts

I was introduced to Tom Leveen with Manicpixiedreamgirl, a gritty and unrepentant story of teen romance and obsession.  I had my bones to pick with that book, but Leveen's style wasn't one of them.  I remember calling it "Bret Easton Ellis for young adults" in the most complimentary way possible.  It's raw, nihilistic, edgy, gripping.  I look forward to that same tone in Random.  I'm also intrigued by the plot, especially since cyberbullying is such an emergent epidemic.  There aren't many books out there that address it (compared to some more established issues), so it's exciting to see such a polished voice take it on.  If his last book was any indication, Random will also be unflinching and dark.  Leveen isn't afraid to go down the rabbit hole.  And I'm excited to follow him there. 

Also this book comes out on my best friend's birthday, which is weird.  

If you want to learn more about Tom Leveen, check out this guest post he did for me last year.  

And if you haven't checked out Thirteen Reasons Why by Jay Asher yet, what are you waiting for!? 






No comments:

Post a Comment