23.4.15

Book Blurb Breakdown: Finding Paris by Joy Preble

book blurb breakdown

Book Blurb Breakdown is a Sarcasm & Lemons feature where your anal English degree-holding author (gently) rips apart jacket blurbs to pin down what makes her want to pick up the book instantly--and what makes her want to throw it at the wall.  See the original post for more detail.  

Now, you too can shred a blurb and post for the world to see!  The post will go up at 12:01am on Thursdays.  Just link back with this fancy little button and add your name to the linky at the bottom.  You can share your grammar nitpicks or just your thoughts.  Make it your own! 

You can also choose to shred the same blurb, or pick your own!  






today's blurb



Status:  Unread


the blurb: as is 
from Goodreads


A page-turning, evocative novel for fans of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and SPEAK, about a girl who must follow a trail of mysterious clues to discover what happened to her sister.

Sisters Leo and Paris Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather, who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love.

But Leo isn’t going anywhere yet… until Paris ditches her at the Heartbreak Hotel Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared?

When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond. But the search for the truth is a not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold tightly.


the blurb:  shredded 


A page-turning, evocative novel for fans of THIRTEEN REASONS WHY and SPEAK (So it's an issues book, something with suicide or depression or sexual assault), about a girl who must follow a trail of mysterious clues to discover what happened to her sister. (....except now it sounds like some kind of mystery ala Paper Towns or something that is not Thirteen Reasons Why or Speak.)  

Sisters Leo and Paris (Oh, how cute.  They have unique names and Paris' is a pun.) Hollings have only ever had each other to rely on. They can’t trust their mother, who hops from city to city and from guy to guy, or their gambler stepfather (How does their mother hop from guy to guy if she's apparently married to this stepfather?), who’s moved them all to Las Vegas. It’s just the two of them: Paris, who’s always been the dreamer, and Leo, who has a real future (Oooh, so dreamers can't have real futures in mind?) in mind—going to Stanford, becoming a doctor, falling in love.

But Leo isn’t going anywhere yet… until Paris ditches her at the Heartbreak Hotel (I'm gagging a little.) Diner, where moments before they had been talking with physics student Max Sullivan. (The timeline here is a little wonky.  Is this physics student someone they know?  Why is it important that he's a physics student?  The ditching seems more important than the Max, but the structure of this sentence says otherwise.) Outside, Leo finds a cryptic note from Paris—a clue. Is it some kind of game? (I dunno, you tell me.  Is it a note or a clue?  What does it suggest?  I need more.)  Where is Paris, and why has she disappeared?  (Good question. She did leave a friggin' note.)  

When Leo reluctantly accepts Max’s offer of help, (This leading phrase is kind of weak.  There should be more emphasis on Max offering to help--and seriously, who the hell is he?--but it's just sort of thrown in here.) the two find themselves following a string of clues through Vegas and beyond (To infinity, and beyond!). But the search for the truth is a not a straight line. And neither is the path to secrets Leo and Max hold tightly.  (Leo and Max have secrets?  What are Leo's secrets?  What do they have to do with Paris being gone?) 


the verdict 
2/5 stars

would i read it?:  not unless a trusted friend told me i should

Perhaps this is a great story, but the blurb is so aimless and meandering that I can't help suspect that the book shares the same unfocused quality.  There's very little indication of why Vegas is important, even though it's emphasized.  The description of Paris' disappearance is so vague that I have no idea if her note suggests she was abducted by aliens or decided to embark on a whirlwind road trip to the Grand Canyon.  Who is Max Sullivan, and why is it so crucial that he's a physics student?  Does his physics knowledge give him a special edge for investigation?  Does Leo have a hard-on for physics students?  And, hold the phone, I thought it was Paris with the secrets here, considering she just went MIA.  Now Leo has secrets?  Why are these important?  Why aren't Paris' secrets more important?  I don't expect a blurb to answer all my questions--after all, that's what the book is for--but I'd like to know enough about the set-up to decide if I'll like it or not.  A slapdash blurb feels like a warning sign.  


your thoughts

Does this blurb grab you?  
Do you agree with my thoughts?  If not, how so?  
Do you have any recommendations for blurbs I should shred?  







2 comments:

  1. Ugh, I totally agree with how you shredded this. It sounds incredibly tacky, which is why I never bothered adding this book to my TBR. The dreamers vs. real futures thing is definitely irking me too. And "Heartbreak Hotel"? Kill me now, seriously. -_-

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. I'm glad I'm not the only one. It just feels like kitsch that hasn't gone any farther. It's also never a good sign when I finish a blurb and I'm still not totally sure what the book's about, or why something that sounds like a madcap caper is being compared to two really serious tearjerkers.

      Delete

Thanks for visiting Sarcasm & Lemons! Come say hi. I love when people say hi. (: I will read every single comment and respond as soon as I can! Which might take a while, because my life is crazy.