24.10.16

Book Blurb Breakdown: Empress of a Thousand Skies by Rhoda Belleza

book blurb breakdown


Book Blurb Breakdown is a Sarcasm & Lemons feature where your anal English degree-holding author (gently) rips apart jacket blurbs to pin down what makes her want to pick up the book instantly--and what makes her want to throw it at the wall.  See the original post for more detail.  

If you'd like to do a breakdown, here's a snazzy little button!  Post your link in the comments. 







today's blurb




Status:  Unread



the blurb: as is 

from Goodreads


Empress
Rhee, better known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an, is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne.

Fugitive
Aly has risen above his war refugee origins to find fame as the dashing star of a holo-vision show. But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee, he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life.

Madman
With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy.

***

Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in her exhilarating debut, perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Pierce Brown.


the blurb:  shredded 



Empress (I don't always love this word-description structure, but I'm intrigued.) 
Rhee, better known as Crown Princess Rhiannon Ta’an (So much linguistic mess here but I will breathe.), is the sole surviving heir to a powerful dynasty. (Yay female heir!) She’ll stop at nothing to avenge her family and claim her throne. (Wait, hold up for like TWO secs.  Avenge them from what?  Were they all crazymurdered?  I just assumed there were no other heirs.)

Fugitive
Aly (I really hope there are more interesting names in the future.) has risen above his (Okay, guy?) war refugee ("War refugee" is a real weird way to put that.)  origins to find fame as the dashing star of a holo-vision show. (Dude, reality TV star in space?  This is kind of amazing.) But when he’s falsely accused of killing Rhee (I thought she was alive!?  Also it's weird to refer to her by this short name from his perspective.), he's forced to prove his innocence to save his reputation – and his life. (I mean, yeah, but anyone accused of murder has to prove his innocence.  What makes this different???

Madman (Who is the madman!?)
With planets on the brink of war, Rhee and Aly are thrown together to confront a ruthless evil (So...the murder plot wasn't the plot?  What evil?  Is the evil the madman?) that threatens the fate of the entire galaxy. (I'm still not sure what's going on.)

***

Rhoda Belleza crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, warfare, and the true meaning of legacy in her exhilarating debut (Lots of words.), perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer and Pierce Brown. (Damn, you evoked the name of Brown...) 


the verdict 

2/5 stars
would i read it?:  yes 


Full disclosure, I'm going to read this anyway because I'm craving some diversity and sci-fi and other things I've heard make me think it'll be good.  But the blurb is a little bit of a mess.  It reads like a skeleton.  Like someone wrote down the very basic basics and was going to go fill them in, and then forgot.  On one hand, you have a lot of cool elements here.  Last surviving heir of a (something happened to make them dead) family!  TV stare of a holo-vision program getting accused of murder!  

But 1. these things are described so sparsely that I can't get a handle of what the stakes are or how they fit together and 2. I'm a little worried about this whole "evil" and "fate of the universe" thing.  What's wrong with a murdery thing in space?  It makes me worried that we know nothing about the "evil," because I can't tell if it's going to be the same "I want to take over for no reason" slosh we get all the time.  It also seems like, in such a short blurb, there is a lot going on and not a lot to give us a sense of how they go together.  Right now I know there are three huge things happening, and my mind is frazzled as to how they're going to fit into one book.  I also don't get a good sense of voice.  

But, like I said, I'm going to read it.  Would I be saying that if I hadn't heard praises from other cool people?  Probably not.  There's just too much left in the wind.  Without the background info, if I'd only seen the blurb, I'd probably put it on the backburner and return after sale date to see whether readers I trust thought it was any good.  But it wouldn't be a rush-out-and-get kind of thing.  No matter how pretty that cover is.  


your thoughts

Does this blurb grab you?  
Do you agree with my thoughts?  If not, how so?  
Have you read it?  Does the blurb match the pages? 
Do you have any recommendations for blurbs I should shred?  

 



No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting Sarcasm & Lemons! Come say hi. I love when people say hi. (: I will read every single comment and respond as soon as I can! Which might take a while, because my life is crazy.