2.12.16

Book Blurb Breakdown: Little Monsters by Kara Thomas

book blurb breakdown


Book Blurb Breakdown is a Sarcasm & Lemons feature where your anal English degree-holding author (gently) rips apart jacket blurbs to pin down what makes her want to pick up the book instantly--and what makes her want to throw it at the wall.  See the original post for more detail.  It's also just an excuse to talk about books I'm excited for in a fun way. 

If you'd like to do a breakdown, here's a snazzy little button!  Post your link in the comments. 







today's blurb




Status:  Unread



the blurb: as is 

from Goodreads


For fans of Pretty Little Liars, Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller, from the author of The Darkest Corners, about appearances versus reality and the power of manipulation amongst teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister.

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother. And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them.

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident.

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers.

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone. 


the blurb:  shredded 



For fans of Pretty Little Liars (Done.), Little Monsters is a new psychological thriller (Yeees. Gimme more thrillers!), from the author of The Darkest Corners (Which was great, by the way), about appearances versus reality (I will never not love this theme.) and the power of manipulation amongst (Very fancy, isn't it?) teenage girls.

Kacey is the new girl in Broken Falls. (Okay, new girl. Just me, but I don't always love this trope.) When she moved in with her father, she stepped into a brand-new life. A life with a stepbrother, a stepmother, and strangest of all, an adoring younger half sister. (Why is that strange? Is it weird to have a younger sister love you?)

Kacey’s new life is eerily charming (Okay, so maybe it's a contrast thing. I like the Pleasantville vibes I'm getting.) compared with the wild highs and lows of the old one she lived with her volatile mother (This sentence is a little clunky but it does a good job of setting up the atmosphere and situation). And everyone is so nice in Broken Falls—she’s even been welcomed into a tight new circle of friends. (Okay, major Stepford vibes. I'm hearing chanting. One of us...one of us...) Bailey and Jade invite her to do everything with them. (I want a little more before the "turn."  Just because the next part seems abrupt. Inviting someone to do everything is a bit different than enmeshed toxic friendship, which is my guess.) 

Which is why it’s so odd when they start acting distant. And when they don’t invite her to the biggest party of the year, it doesn’t exactly feel like an accident. (Again, maybe the language here is too gentle.  "It doesn't feel like an accident" is a far cry from "it feels like a slap in the face.") 

But Kacey will never be able to ask, because Bailey never makes it home from that party. (WHaaaaaaa) Suddenly, Broken Falls doesn’t seem so welcoming after all—especially once everyone starts looking to the new girl for answers. (Why? Is she implicated? I need to know what the stakes are!) 

Kacey is about to learn some very important lessons: Sometimes appearances can be deceiving. Sometimes when you’re the new girl, you shouldn’t trust anyone.  (Is that really the lesson we're going for here?  Become a hermit?) 


the verdict 

3.5/5 stars
would i read it?:  yes 


This blurb could be punchier.  Given that I'm familiar with Kara's writing, I know how suspenseful and twisty her books can be, so this blurb should reflect that.  The language is a bit too lackadaisical for an intense, nail-biting thriller.  "Hm, like, I dunno, maybe it was an accident."  I want you to tell me more about this Bailey and Jade triangle.  Suck me in.  Is she suddenly spending every minute with them, liking everything they like, sharing all her deepest darkest secrets?  Is that why the slight is such a blow?  

And I also want to know why people are questioning her about Bailey's disappearance/death/whatever, because right now I'm thinking, well, yeah, when someone bites it, the police tend to ask their friends questions.  Is someone framing Kacey?  Is there a conspiracy?  

While I'd like some stronger language and a little more pizzazz, I also have a good enough sense of the plot to be drawn in.  It's got the workings of a young adult domestic thriller: perfect town, perfect family, perfect life, then suddenly BAM someone's bleeding all over the chaise.  Having read The Darkest Corners, I'm looking forward to the same frustrating, tense small-town mystery with that extra level of OMG EVERYONE IS TRYING TO MURDER YOU RUN.  


your thoughts

Does this blurb grab you?  
Do you agree with my thoughts?  If not, how so?  
Have you read it?  Does the blurb match the pages? 
Do you have any recommendations for blurbs I should shred?  

 



No comments:

Post a Comment

Thanks for visiting Sarcasm & Lemons! Come say hi. I love when people say hi. (: I will read every single comment and respond as soon as I can! Which might take a while, because my life is crazy.