16.4.17

SST: Blog Tour: Interview: Giveaway: Laura Silverman discusses her upcoming young adult contemporary, Girl Out of Water!


interview with author laura silverman



Today, Sarcasm&Lemons is honored to host Laura Silverman, whose contemporary Girl Out of Water from Sourcebooks has been hotly anticipated in the young adult community for months...and it's finally almost out! Laura was kind enough to answer some questions about her upcoming title. Stick around until the end, because you'll have a chance to win a copy!
1)What inspired this book?
The original title was LANDLOCKED, and I loved the idea of playing with what that literally and metaphorically meant. A surfer girl stuck in landlocked Nebraska and also themes of feeling locked/trapped because you’re scared what distance and change might bring.

2)What kind of work did you do to write the character of Lincoln, the skater boy with one arm who becomes Anise's friend?
Lincoln came to me as almost a fully fleshed-out character, but that doesn’t mean I knew how to write about someone with one arm, so I did a lot of research and worked with multiple sensitivity readers. Also had to do a lot of skateboarding research!

3)What was the most difficult part about writing this book?
I wish I had something more specific but basically all of the middle drafts before I queried for an agent. The first draft was exhilarating because I finished a book! But then for a few drafts it was frustrating because I was working hard but things just weren’t clicking right. The upside is when things did click it was even more exhilarating than draft one, and I knew it was time to look for an agent :)

4)What was your favorite scene to write?
Eep! Everything feels like a spoiler, so I’ll pick something early – I loved writing the bonfire / night surfing scene with Anise and her friends.  I also love writing the dynamics between Anise and her cousins – that’s a lot of scenes though

5)If you had to pick one, would you go surfer or skater?
Ooh! Surfer! No, skater! Ack! Can’t decide!
6)What about Nebraska or Santa Cruz?
I definitely want to visit both, but I do really love the beach

7)What YA books have you read lately that are just amazing?
Some recent faves are THE UPSIDE OF UNREQUITED, THE HATE U GIVE, and UNDER ROSE-TAINED SKIES.

8)What do you hope teen readers get out of reading Girl Out of Water?
Number one is I hope they just get some enjoyment out of it! And number two is I think a lot of us deal with a fear that distance is going to make us lose our friendships / important relationships, but if your people are important to you, just work at it, and you won’t lose them. Going off to college or wherever else is scary, but you can keep a meaningful relationship with someone even if they live across an ocean from you.

Thank you, Laura, for the interview! I can't wait to read Girl Out of Water!



more about the book




Synopsis (GR):

Fans of Jenny Han and Sarah Dessen will fall in love this contemporary debut about finding yourself-and finding love-in unexpected places.

Ocean breeze in her hair and sand between her toes, Anise can't wait to spend the summer before her senior year surfing and hanging out on the beach with friends. Santa Cruz is more than her home-it's her heart. But when her aunt, a single mother, is in a serious car accident, Anise must say goodbye to California to help care for her three young cousins.

Landlocked Nebraska is the last place Anise wants to be. Sure, she loves her family, but it's hard to put her past behind her when she's living in the childhood house of the mother who abandoned her. And with every Instagram post, her friends back home feel further away.

Then she meets Lincoln, a charismatic, one-armed skater who challenges her to swap her surfboard for a skateboard. Because sometimes the only way to find your footing is to let go.

About the Author:
Laura received her MFA in writing for children from the New School. She loves books and dogs—okay, and quite a few people too. She currently lives in Atlanta, Georgia. You can say hello on Twitter at @LJSilverman1.



win a copy!




a Rafflecopter giveaway



check out the rest of the tour! 

4/16 Tour Blogs Stops
Interview - Pretty Deadly Blog
Review -  Sarcasm and Lemons
Interview -  Curly Hair Bibliophile
interview - Hopeful Reads
Mood board & Review - Here's to Happy Endings
Review -  Book Nerd Addicts

4/23 Tour Blogs Stops
Aesthetics Post - Roecker Reviews
Interview - Awkwordly Emma

4/30 Tour Blogs Stops
Graphics Inspired Quotes -  The Cozy Little Book Nook
Interview -  Tattooed Pages  
Review -  Crazy for YA





1 comment:

  1. Awesome interview CJ!!! It makes me want to re-read it all over again!! It was great having you on the tour.

    ReplyDelete