ARC Review: C.J. Whisper of the Tide by Sarah Tolcser

review         book



Book Covertitle: Whisper of the Tide
author: Sarah Tolcser
pages: 416
format: Paperback ARC
buy it: Amazon | B&N | Goodreads
rating: 3/5 (from hated to loved) or 5.5/10 (all books I've ever read)
recommended for: Fans of Pirates of the Caribbean, Royal Bastards, and other blockbuster fantasies with a funny side.
The second in the immersive series set along the waterways of a fantasy world, perfect for fans of Sabaa Tahir.

Caro has settled into a routine: Wake, eat breakfast, try to figure out who is going attempt to assassinate Markos today. The currents aren't exactly calm. Markos is in constant danger, and his claim to the Akhaian throne is largely unsupported. Without military strength he doesn't have a chance. Relief appears on the horizon when a powerful Archon wants to side with Markos in his fight for the throne. But in exchange for an army, Markos must marry the Archon’s daughter. They must decide which is more important: their love for each other or the fate of Akhaia. And Caro will have to decide if her destiny is to sail with the tide, or chart her own course.

With shipwrecks, lost treasure, old and new enemies, dark magic, and devastating romance, Sarah Tolcser weaves another epic story about chasing fate.

in depth


  • I keep saying I don't like ship books, but Song of the Current was a charming adventure from last year and I think I loved Whisper of the Tide even more. It's a quirky, sweeping fantasy-cum-pirate-adventure that pulls away from many overused conventions to deliver an exciting ride. 

  • The ensemble is a refreshing change. Like Royal Bastards, Whisper has a small cast of main characters who surround Caro. It's not just MC and Love Interest and where are all their friends and family? In fact, Caro's hottie Markos isn't even with her for much of the book, leaving Caro to join forces with others. Caro's POV is snarky and reads like a real teenager. I love how sullen and no-nonsense she can be, and how she's genuinely selfish and has to grow past that. Markos, when he's present, is annoyingly noble, but in an endearing way. We also get Caro's cousin Kente back; I absolutely love this shadowgirl, her trickiness and her spunk. And new to the table is Melanos, Jack Sparrow's spiritual successor. He's gruff and drunk and you're never sure which side he's on, which obviously makes him my favorite person. 

  • It's a pirate adventure, save-the-kingdom, and romance rolled into one. I'll admit, it's biggest flaw was that it's predictable. I guessed a lot of the twists in advance. Sarah makes the safe choices when she could be shaking things up. But, there was enough to love that I did really enjoy myself. It reads like a video game. The setup. The side quest. The vengeful sea goddess who's f*cking things up. The unknown assassin. Caro is constantly scrambling to keep up. And even though I often knew where they were going, it was a thrill to watch them get there. Sarah has a flair for the cinematic that makes my head scream "movie deal!" 

  • You won't recognize this world right away. In a land of Tolkien-clones, Sarah's Greek and Phoenician-inspired linguistics is such a nice change! I'd have liked a little more worldbuilding (see Kate Elliott's Court of Fives) because I was never quite sure why the empire of Akhaia needed saving, or how this war was going to shake out. I think Sarah works best on the smaller level. Like Caro, she is comfortable on a ship, throwing out sailor jargon and made-up slang in a casual and comprehensible way. Her world of pirate queens, sea gods, traders, and explorers feels much more vibrant than the distant foggy empire. All this salty veneer kept me enthralled even when the plot was saggy. 

  • Whisper of the Tides is a solid follow-up to Caro's first adventure. It capitalizes on the sea world that Sarah weaves so well, and combines cheeky humor with cinematic adventure for a movie-like tale. 

in a sentence

  • Whisper of the Tides capitalizes on the sea world that Sarah weaves so well, and combines cheeky humor with cinematic adventure for a movie-like tale. 


rating         



will i read this author again?  Yep yep 
will i continue the series?  I think I will, although I'm not sure if it's continuing?  


Note: I received this copy from the author/publisher in exchange for an honest review.  The price of the book and its origin in no way affected my stated opinions.





2 comments:

  1. افضل شركة تنظيف بالقطيف تقدم خدمات نظافة متكاملة علي اعلي مستوي بدقة وجودة ومواصفات قياسية واسعار تنافسية فتعد الشركة الاولي بالقطيف لتقديم خدماتالتنظيف بجودة وسعر مثالييينفهي خير مثال لراغبي الحصول علي نظافة شاملة مع التعقيم وباسعار مناسبة

    شركة تنظيف بالقطيف
    شركة تنظيف منازل بالقطيف

    ______________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


    شركة كشف تسربات المياه بالقطيف
    شركة تنظيف مجالس بالقطيف
    شركة تنظيف خزانات بالقطيف
    شركة شفط بيارات بالقطيف

    ReplyDelete
  2. شركة امست للتنظيف افضل شركة لتنظيف المنازل والشقق والفللوالبيوت والمجالس والكنب والمفروشات والخزانات بالقطيف والمنطقة الشرقية لديها عمالة مدربة وخصومات هائلة طما توفر خدمات مكافحة الحشرات ورش المبيدات بالقطيف باسعار رخيصة ومناسبة وخصومات هائلة

    شركة امست للتنظيف

    امست للنظافة القطيف
    شركة امست لمكافحة الحشرات
    شركة امست لرش المبيدات

    ReplyDelete

@whitleybirks